Createspace Review ~ Self Publishing A Christian Novel

the-richest-heart-fc-blog

Today, I wanted to do a review of Createspace for any fellow, self-publishing authors out there. I have been using Createspace over the past year, and what an adventure it has been! Let me start by saying that ultimately I’m pretty satisfied with the company. So far they have given me great customer service, and I was able to achieve the end results I wanted. With that said, I will admit that not everything has been a piece of cake with Createspace either. This is going to be a balancing review showing the things about Createspace that I like, the things I don’t like, and sharing the one really worrying experience I had with them recently.

Okay, the things I love about Createspace:

  1. Their wholesale price is incredible! I have a book with a little over 400 pages and it costs me less than $7 to print it. This means that if I order copies and sell them myself in local stores or at events, I can make a pretty decent profit on them!
  2. The pages feel quality. I like the weight and feel of their paper. I usually choose the cream colored paper, because I think it’s easier on people’s eyes when they read, and I really like the way the interior of my books turn out!
  3. Both the glossy and the matte covers turn out looking and feeling wonderful! I can say with certainty that (as long as there are no accidental mistakes) the quality of the cover material is good!
  4. This one seems obvious, but I love Createspace because they have allowed me to make my dream come true! Sharing my books with the world was important to me, and Createspace makes it possible for me not only to have my books in print, but to have them available on Amazon.com. It was really important to me that my books were available on Amazon. It’s a site that everyone recognizes and trusts.

Things that I don’t particularly like about Createspace:

  1. Instructions for formatting novels for Createspace aren’t exactly easily found. Maybe this was my own fault and lack of observation, but it took a lot of trial and error to format my novels. After doing a lot of fiddling with the margins and trim size of my document, I finally realized that Createspace offered Microsoft Word templates. That would have been a life saver if I had only known it sooner, but somehow I missed it! This isn’t really a mark against Createspace. But it would be so, so nice of them to make their template page a little more conspicuous so authors could find it right off the bat!
  2. Formatting the cover image was…confusing. So, Createspace offers templates for creating a properly sized cover image depending on the trim size you have chosen for your book. I used it and designed my front cover. I thought that I did it just right, but each time I upload the image to Createspace, it notifies me that the image was sized incorrectly and that they had to adjust it. Ultimately, the image works. Createspace resizes it and it ends up looking fine, so no real problem. But I’m still confused. If I used a template, then why does it say it was sized incorrectly? Again, this may be my own lack of understanding. Formatting cover images for Createspace is tricky  and I wish that they could give us a more in depth tutorial about it.
  3. You are unable to preview your uploaded cover image until after Createspace has reviewed the media for 24 hours. This is always so frustrating, because since formatting is a little tricky and slightly uncertain, you won’t know if you did the sequence of converting JPEG to PDF right for 24 hours (sometimes a bit less). It’s inconvenient, but perhaps Createspace has a very good reason for this step, so we’ll just excercise some patience and wait to see the results.
  4. The ink for the cover art is darker than expected. I’m not saying this is a big problem or frustration to me, but it’s definitely something to be aware of. If you’ve made your cover rich with dark hues, you might want to lighten it just slightly or some of your darkest objects may not be fully visible.
  5. Createspace only allows you to make books which are 22 pages in length or longer. Now, I’m sure they have a good reason for this one, maybe their printing machines need to have 22 pages in order to bind them together, I don’t know, but it’s still slightly disappointing. As well as novels, I am a children’s book author/llustrator. Children can’t handle a lot of pages, their attention span runs out too quickly. I’m afraid that 22 pages is too long for some ages, which means that I can’t publish my small picture books through Createspace unless I group several of them together.That can be done, but it isn’t the way I envisioned my books being published. For picture books that are shorter than 22 pages, I would suggest you look into thebookpatch.com. If you’re interested in that company, you can go check out the reviews which I wrote about my experiences with them.

Okay, now to share my dramatic experience. Keep in mind that the following account is in no way meant to paint Createspace in a negative light. In the end, I was totally happy with them and I was a satisfied customer. Here it goes: this December, I had made plans to go to the local Christmas Bazaar. I was so excited because it was the first time I could present both of my novels to my lovely town’s people. So, as soon as I had formatted my second novel and gotten it uploaded to Createspace, I ordered a few copies.I don’t know why, but I had a sort of premonition that something was going to go wrong. Time wise, I knew that I was cutting things close and I was kind of scared that the books wouldn’t come in time for the Bazaar. But, they did! I was really glad, but my joy quickly turned to horror. When I opened the box, I noticed that my cover was a little bit weird looking. The left margin was a bit cropped. I thought “Oh no, I must not have formatted it right!”. Disgruntled but trying to make the best of things, I decided that the appearance of the cover wasn’t bad enough to worry about. On further inspection however, more problems arose. As I took each book out of the box, I noticed that some of them had bent corners. The box was way too small! The packaging was a little bit sloppy. There was also a glue-like substance smudged over the back covers and spines of the books, and when I looked inside, I noticed that the left margin was cropped there too! When you held the page in your hand, you barely had enough room for your thumb to rest on the page without covering the text. I knew that this was a factory mistake, because when I formatted my book, I made sure that the margins were roomy. I grabbed a measuring tape and discovered that the books had been made over a quarter inch smaller than my selected trim size. Compared to the proof copy I had ordered a couple weeks earlier, they were very small! Yes, you can imagine that I was a very discouraged girl at that moment. But, I got on the phone with Createspace, and my troubles began melting away. Here’s were my complaints end and my praise for this company begins. They have excellent customer service! Yes, I did have to wait on hold for a long time. No problem. Once my call was put through, the man on the other end was so friendly and helpful! He listened to my story and immediately took action, giving me instructions on how to send the defective books back and ordering a replacement shipment right away. He promised that they were going to make sure that the books looked right before I got them, and he gave me free priority shipping! I was holding my breath so to speak, because the Bazaar was only days away! To my delight, the new shipment of books arrived the evening before the Bazaar and they looked splendid! Since Createspace was so good about righting their wrong, I don’t hold this dramatic experience against them. I know what their printing quality is usually like, (excellent), and even though I got one batch of defective books, I’m hoping it was a short lived error. I am a happy customer! I got a box full of beautiful books and had so much fun sharing them with people at the Christmas Bazaar! So, there’s my story and my review about Createspace. One of these days, I’m really hoping to put out a post about formatting books and uploading them to Createspace. I don’t claim to be a professional, but hey, I went through trials, errors, headaches and more until I finally created a book that I am proud of! Maybe my experiences will help others avoid all of those time consuming errors as they make their dreams come true! Oh, and if anyone has suggestions or experiences, or if you know something I don’t, I would love to hear your thoughts about Createspace, self publishing, marketing etc…! If you’d like to check out my two novels, you can take a look here! They’re available in both paperback and kindle formats, and you can read the first few chapters on Amazon.com! You can also follow me on Goodreads! You can find my novels posted there, and take a look at my favorite books to read! I love sharing my favorite reads, discovering new ones, and writing reviews from a Christian perspective. Have fun, keep writing and I wish you the best!

6 thoughts on “Createspace Review ~ Self Publishing A Christian Novel

  1. Thanks for your post. I’ve been flip-flopping on which to use either createspace or the book patch. I’m leaning toward the book patch except the book wouldn’t be on Amazon.

    • Hi Brenda! You’re welcome! Both companies have their strong points and their weak points. It really depends on what kind of a book you’ve written. I would say Book Patch is my go to for small picture books and Createspace is my preference for novels. The Book Patch tends to be a little pricier than Createspace, and it’s true, you can’t get it on Amazon that way. But, they still have good quality and service as far as I’ve experienced. And, the more copies you order from The Book Patch at once, the more of a discount you get. Don’t forget, you aren’t limited to one or the other. You can go with both and broaden your exposure that way! Take care and have a Merry Christmas!

      • Thanks Theresa, I believe I’ll try createspace first. I’ll take your advise and thoroughly read the website before tackling. Merry Christmas!

      • Theresa, Sorry to bother you again. I have decided to go with createspace. My question is the tax id. Do you know how that works. Is there a charge for that. Do I have to keep detail records in case of an audit? With the book patch do I need a tax id?

      • Hi Brenda! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply! It’s been so long that I can’t remember if I had to give The Book Patch tax id. But, yes, Createspace requires it. I don’t recall there being any charges. I haven’t paid Createspace a dime except for the price I pay to order proof copies or shipments of my books. Personally, I think it’s a good idea to keep a detailed record of your sales for tax purposes and just your own records. I wish you well!

Leave a Reply

